

## Science Academies' Refresher Course in Theoretical Physics



## Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara 690 110, India 15 June to 1 July 2023

## Sponsored by Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi The National Academy of Sciences, India, Prayagraj

A Refresher Course in '**Theoretical Physics**' for College/University teachers/research scholars will be held at the Post-Graduate and Research Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara, Kerala, during 15 June to 1 July 2023. The Course is primarily aimed at teachers involved in teaching Theoretical Physics at the UG/PG level although a few seats will be available for research scholars/post-docs in Physics. The Course will cover topics selected from the graduate and post-graduate curriculum in the broad areas of Classical Dynamics and Nonlinear Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Entanglement and Computing, Statistical Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, General Relativity and Cosmology, and Mathematical Physics. The lectures will be supplemented by discussions, problem sessions and some experiments connected to theory lectures.

UGC has approved two-week Refresher Courses of Good Standing for Promotion, vide notification No. F3-1/2009, dated 30 June 2010, No. F.1-2/2016, dated 11 July 2016 and No. F.1-2/2017(EC/PS), dated 18 July 2018.

**Resource Persons:** Prof. M. Lakshmanan (Bharathidasan University), Prof. Arul Lakshminarayan (IIT Madras), Prof. Govind Krishnaswami (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Prof. Shamik Gupta (TIFR India), Prof. S. Murugesh (IIST, Thiruvananthapuram) and Prof. V. Ramakrishnan (Madurai Kamaraj University).

Applications are invited from teachers with experience in teaching undergraduate and post-graduate courses in Physics. Few seats will also be available for highly motivated Research Scholars and Post-docs. A maximum of 40 applications will be selected for participation. Teachers/Post-docs/Research Scholars who wish to participate in the Refresher Course should apply online by clicking the following link:

## https://webjapps.ias.ac.in/Refreshcourse/NewTP.jsp

A scanned copy of the application approved by the Head of the institution (or competent authority) should be sent by e-mail to hodbmcphysics@gmail.com with subject RC-TP in the e-mail.

Last date for receipt of applications: 20 May 2023.

Outstation candidates will be provided local hospitality and round-trip bus/train (three-tier AC) fare by the shortest route.

**Course Director: Prof. M. Lakshmanan**, FNASc, FASc, FNA, FTWAS (Professor of Eminence and DST-SERB National Chair), Department of Nonlinear Dynamics, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli 620 024.

**Course Coordinators: Dr D. Sajan, Dr Merin George** and **Prof. Javeesh Alex**, Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Mavelikara 690 110, Kerala, India.

Contact numbers: 94950 43765, 94002 03003, 94478 45672